22 Jul 16
By Media Team
Posted in Team News

Henderson’s side for final Championship clash

Head coach, Andrew Henderson, has named his 19 man squad to face Halifax for the final Championship game before the Qualifiers commences, with two debutantes in the side.

Callum Bustin, Sadiq Adebiyi and Kam Pearce-Paul will all make the step up on Sunday from the Broncos academy to the first team. It’s nothing new for Adebiyi, who had a stint with the first team in 2015 – debuting in August against Hunslet Hawks – and subsequently making four appearances and scoring two tries, before returning to full time studies this year.

Henderson says all three ready for Sunday, and deserved of their place in the team.

“Our performance last Sunday was disappointing as we know we are a better team than what we have shown these past two weeks. We saw an improvement in our attitude and effort from the previous week but our execution and discipline let us down. Too many players are doing okay in parts and are not being consistent enough in their overall performance in delivering the standards we set for ourselves in this team,” said Henderson.

“As a result, it has created an opportunity for some of our young guys to step up into the first team. All three of these boys have impressed throughout the academy season, and at training in recent weeks. They have all truly earned this chance. Sid, in fact, has signed a contract to join the first team in 2017.

“The focus this week has been about us and being better. Individually getting your house in order and focusing on delivering your individual standards both at training, and if selected on Sunday for the greater good of the team.

“If the players manage this then we will see a good collective performance. We’ve spoken about consistency, playing for each other, and rediscovering that determination and steel that we’ve shown over the course of the year.

“We go to Halifax determined to get a performance and play well as we build into the Qualifiers.”

London Broncos v Halifax, Sunday 24 July, Mbi Shay, 3pm:

14 Andy Ackers
29 Sadiq Adebiyi
10 Eddie Battye
30 Callum Bustin*
James Cunningham
6 Israel Eliab
12 Matt Garside
11 Daniel Harrison
Ben Hellewell
16 Mark Ioane
32 Elliot Kear
5 Iliess Macani
23 Jon Magrin
31 Kam Pearce-Paul*
26 Api Pewhairangi
9 Nick Slyney
33 Jamie Soward
24 Alex Walker
Rhys Williams

*First appearance in first team.