21 Dec 15
By Broncos Media
Posted in Team News

London Broncos announce 2016 squad

The London Broncos have confirmed a 28 man squad for the 2016 season, after Head Coach Andrew Henderson today announced his team for the Kingstone Press Championship.

Amongst eight new faces joining the ranks, 20 players have been retained from the 2015 squad, and will be led by Captain Wes Naiqama, who has previously captained his national Fiji.

In addition to this, eight of the current squad have come through the Broncos youth system, with three stepping up out of the academy in the coming season. Ben Gray, Ben Pointer and Matt Davis will all join the first team in the 2016, after having played with the under 19s.

Alex Foster also returns to the squad, after a brief stint with the club on loan from Leeds in 2014.

Latest signing, Israel Eliab, completed the numbers ahead of 2016, and joins other newcomers Mark Ioane, Nathan Stapleton, Eddie Battye, Andy Ackers, Jack Bussey, Scott Leatherbarrow and Mark Offerdahl.

“It’s great that as a club we have been able to further progress the careers of players like Ben Gray and Ben Pointer, who both joined us in the academy, and have now stepped up into the first team,” said Head Coach Andrew Henderson.

“It demonstrates that there is a clear pathway for young guys joining the ranks, and offers great opportunities for young players coming through our youth system.

“Having also retained 20 faces from last year’s squad is a great show of the faith the boys have in the club and the direction in which we’re headed. We’re already putting in the hard yards pre-season, and will continue to do so in the new year. We’re really looking to improve on last season, and excited for a big season to come in 2016.”

The London Broncos 2016 season begins on February 7 against Oldham RLFC, and first home game is February 14 against Swinton Lions, kicking off at 3pm at Trailfinders.

London Broncos 2016 squad:

1. Ben Hellewell
2. Rhys Williams
3. Nathan Stapleton
4. Wes Naiqama (Captain)
5. Illies Macani
6. Israel Eliab
7. William Bartau
8. Nick Slyney
9. James Cunningham
10. Eddie Battye
11. Daniel Harrison (Vice Captain)
12. Matt Garside
13. Rhys Lovegrove
14. Andy Ackers
15. Jack Bussey
16. Mark Ioane
17. Mark Offerdahl
18. Jamie Thackray
19. Joe Keyes
20. Scott Leatherbarrow
21. Alex Foster
22. Matt Davis
23. Jon Magrin
24. Alex Walker
25. Toby Everett
27. Ben Pointer
28. Ben Gray
32. Elliot Kear