19 Jan 18
By Media Team
Posted in Team News

Ward names his first Broncos Squad

Danny Ward has named his first squad, since taking over at London Broncos, for the friendly against Doncaster RLFC.

The game at the Keepmoat Stadium will take place on Sunday 21st January with a 3pm kick off.

Ward has named a large squad for the first game of his tenure and sees Matty Fleming, Robert Butler, Daniel Hindmarsh and Jacob Ogden potentially making their debut’s for the club with Will Lovell making a return to first team action.

There are also a number of talented Academy players in the squad such as Gideon Boafa, James Meadows and Rhys Joel who will all benefit from the experience.

The bulk of last seasons squad will again be donning the Broncos shirt with a couple of the many World Cup players being rested for the first pre-season friendly of 2018.

Head Coach Danny Ward said, “The boys have been eager to get out there and play following the pre-season work. It’s a great opportunity for everyone to see where we are and to get us up and running. The young lads I’ve brought into the squad will get a feel for the tempo and intensity of the game too.”

“This will be a big test for us and will lead us into an even bigger test next week against Hull KR. It will be a big day for me and the club this Sunday with so many of the lads in the squad now being Academy products a fact that we are very proud of. For me, well, I will be immensely proud to lead out a team that is in my bones now and I hope that this can be the first step to proving some people very wrong this year.”


Danny Ward’s squad to face Doncaster RLFC

1 – Alex Walker

2 – Rhys Williams

3 – Matty Fleming

4 – Michael Channing

5 – Kieran Dixon

6 – Jarrod Sammut

7 – Api Pewhairangi

8 – Tom Spencer

9 – James Cunningham

10 – Mark Ioane

11 – Jay Pitts (Captain)

12 – Matt Gee

13 – Matt Davis

14 – Jacob Ogden

15 – Ben Hellewell

16 – Kameron Pearce-Paul

17 – Gideon Boafa

18 – Eddie Battye

19 – Matthew Davies

20 – Lewis Bienek

21 – Will Lovell

22 – Daniel Harrison

23 – Sadiq Adebiyi

24 – James Meadows

25 – Daniel Hindmarsh

26 – Robert Butler

27 – Rhys Joel