How will the new competitions work?
After playing 23 fixtures, the 24 Super League and Championship clubs will split into three groups – The Super 8s – based on league positions.

The top eight will be the Super League Super 8s, the middle eight will be The Qualifiers and the third eight will be the Championship Shield. Collectively these are the Super 8s.

How will the Super 8s work?
Clubs will each play seven fixtures on a league basis.

Clubs which have performed strongest in their respective competitions in the regular season will be rewarded with four fixtures as follows: the top four Super League clubs will play four home matches; in the Qualifiers, the team finishing ninth and 10th in Super League and the top two teams from the Championship will have four home matches; and in the Championship Shield, clubs finishing the regular Championship season in 5th to 8th place will have four home fixtures.

In Super League and Championship Shield, the competing clubs will carry over the points and scoring records from the regular season into the Super 8s. The Qualifiers will start with zero points because the eight clubs are drawn from two different competitions.